Kale Pesto with Linguine

So today is Meatless Monday, and I have every intention of having a delicious vegetarian meal today. I have leftover kale from a dish I made yesterday, and I wanted to eat what was left before it was wasted. That is why I chose to make a kale based pesto.

Pesto has always been one of my favorites because it is so versatile. Once the pesto I made today was completed, I started by simply putting a light spread on a slice of whole wheat bread. It was great, and I was already hungry so it helped tide me over while the noodles were still cooking. The recipe you see below will make a relatively large amount of pesto, more than I can eat in one sitting as an individual, but you need not worry! The pesto is easy to store and can be eaten in the future.

So now, without further ado, Kale Pesto with Linguine.

img_1432

Ingredients

  • 3 oz pine nuts, toasted
  • 3 oz Parmesan, coarsely grated (plus extra to serve)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 3 oz kale
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • Juice 1 lemon
  • Linguine, to serve

Instructions

  1. Combine: pine nuts, Parmesan, garlic, oils, kale, and lemon juice in a food processor and blend to a paste. Season to taste
  2. Cook desired amount of linguine following the instructions supplied by the box.
  3. Stir the pesto through the hot pasta to serve, topping with extra Parmesan and oil, if you like

Storage

Place the pesto in a container or jar, cover the surface with a little more olive oil and keep in the fridge for a week, or freeze for up to a month.

Until Next Time,

The Part Time Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

