Butternut Squash Soup

Butternut Squash Soup

IMG_0739
Homemade Butternut Squash Soup

Total Time: 1 hour

Prep: 20 minutes

Cook: 40 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 butternut squash (2-3 pounds), peeled and seeded
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 6 cups vegetable stock
  • Nutmeg, salt, and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Cut Squash into 1-inch chunks
  2. In a large pot, melt butter
  3. Add onion and cook until translucent (about 8 minutes)
  4. Add the squash and stock then simmer until the squash is tender (15-20 minutes)
  5. Remove the squash chunks and place in a blender and puree, before returning to the pot
  6. Stir the soup, seasoning with nutmeg, salt, and pepper

 

Preparation

After having an amazing butternut squash soup last week, I decided to set a goal of creating my own that was hopefully as good as the one I had ordered at a local restaurant. I have to say, I achieved this goal, while I must also admit, I am incredibly biased with this since I made the above soup personally. Yet the soup was at least comparable in taste as far as I was concerned. I searched a while to find a recipe with high ratings, and it was food network that gave me this one. The original recipe called for chicken stock, but I substituted in a vegetarian stock to make this soup entirely vegetarian.

Peeling the squash can be quite difficult for a novice chef like me but after trying several different utensils I found that a short, sharp knife worked best. Although it was rather crude, it worked faster than the peelers I tried because of the awkward shape of the squash. After peeled, simply chop the squash in half and carve out the center like a pumpkin.

IMG_0737
Peeled Butternut Squash, ready to be seeded

After the simmering is complete, instead of scooping out the individual squash pieces I found that an immersion blender makes life a lot easier. While eating the soup though I noticed approximately three different pieces of squash sitting at the bottom of the pot.The immersion blender made life significantly easier and sped up the cooking of this dish, but also I feel as if the soup would have been a little more thin and soup-like had I simply used a blender on the pieces themselves. So the decision is entirely yours if you have this device.

IMG_0738
Butternut Squash Soup, pre-blending

Butternut Squash and Seasonality

For those who are unaware, the reason I became a vegetarian is because I want to reduce my personal carbon/greenhouse gas footprint. Yet as I was cooking this soup I realized that despite not having any meat in the dish, the squash itself is not at all in season. I hadn’t even thought of this until I was cooking the soup itself since a local restaurant had been serving it just the week before. Regardless, this is something I plan on learning more about.

I’m fully aware of the global impact that is involved with transporting produce that is in season in one country and bringing it to a place (such as my local grocery store) where it is not. Although this allows for us to eat certain produce year round, it is something I will avoid into the future as much as possible. There is no need to eat a butternut squash near the end of winter when it is a late summer/fall fruit. The first step with this is of course learning which items are in fact in season throughout the year. Hopefully I can share my findings with you folks as I learn more and continue on my path to being a vegetarian.

Until next time,

The Part Time Vegetarian

3/5 successful days

 

Leave a Reply

