Vegetarian Restaurateur (Allegedly)

When I first arrived at the Stilt House I thought choosing a meal would be a difficult, strenuous task, but was pleasantly surprised. After just a quick scan I found numerous vegetarian items hidden among the various meat filled dishes. Meals such as stuffed mushroom caps begged for my attention, yet three items stole my attention quickly. I ordered all of them, and was not disappointed one bit. The first of these were the appetizers, A giant baked pretzel with beer cheese sauce and stone ground mustard and a butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

Butternut Squash Soup | Infused With Blue Moon

There are no words which describe the taste of either of these plates. The soup had a particular sweetness mixed with spice that assaulted the taste buds and the pretzel’s mustard had a kick that cannot be compared to. Because of the taste, my new goal for next week is to make a soup that compares to the flavor which this soup delivered. Although likely to be difficult given my relatively limited knowledge of cooking, it is well worth it if I can create a soup even remotely similar.

Caprese Flatbread

Caprese Flatbread | Tomatoes | Basil | Olive Oil | Fresh Mozzarella

Although to begin this meal I had every intention of taking a picture of every dish before eating, the smell and look of this flat bread brought me to forget this until only one piece remained. This sole morsel was quickly consumed after this picture was taken. Nothing can quite compare to the taste of fresh tomatoes and mozzarella. Nothing.

This first time going out to eat was a success. Pressure from my guests was non-existent, the options were plentiful, and the meal was amazing. I look forward to doing this once again, but until then I just intend on developing my own culinary skills while eating healthy meals that add little to nothing to environmental destruction. I recently found another blog titled “The Vegetarian Ginger” which has numerous recipes I intend on following. I hope, and actually know, that this will be successful given the wide range of vegetarian recipes available.

3/7 Successful Days.

The Part Time Vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

