The Start

After watching Cowspiracy twice, I feel I can no longer deny the facts behind global warming. I never necessarily denied the facts per say, but it has always been so easy to ignore them. I knew all about cars and electricity production polluting the planet, but never felt I was in a position to change these long established systems. Yes, I avoid using my car as often as possible, take short showers, and turn lights off when I leave the room but it has never felt satisfying. This all changed after watching the documentary Cowspiracy. The burden of blame has finally been placed directly upon my shoulders.

This film opened my eyes to evidence which many different environmental organizations often ignore for one reason or another. It can be summarized simply with the title of a 2006 U.N. report: “Rearing Cattle Produces More Greenhouse Gases Than Driving Cars.” This seemed impossible…until I thought about how much meat I eat on a daily basis. Bacon or sausage for breakfast, a turkey sandwich for lunch, grilled chicken for dinner. There is literally meat in every meal I eat. These clean little packages of meat don’t simply sprout out of the ground after given enough water and sunlight. These packages of meat were once animals who required food and water to grow, adequate (although hardly) room to allow for that growth, and commonly receiving medication to prevent them from getting sick. While this rapid growth is occurring though, they are constantly emitting waste in the form of liquid, solid, and gas. This waste might not seem like much, but when the size of the animal and sheer number of them is considered you start to see why animal agriculture could produce more greenhouse gases than driving cars.

I’ve always considered myself to be aware of my ecological footprint. Teachers and professors constantly telling me of the dangers of overuse by the American population. Forced to take numerous carbon footprint quizzes to tell me how much I was hurting the planet. I was always told we have to pass regulation to make cars more efficient, power plants more clean, and waste relatively limited. Yet it is time I really begin to make a difference. Not tomorrow, not a week from now, but today. It is easy, and we can all do it by eating less meat. As you may have noticed the name of this blog is in fact “The Part Time Vegetarian” and that is exactly what I plan on being from this day forward. Unfortunately, meat is engraved deeply within me, so the transition will be slow as I find alternatives to my favorite dishes. Yet you can trust me though when I say my meat consumption will be limited from here on out.

This blog will be come a documentary of sorts. I am using it as much to share my story as I am to keep track of my personal progress. It may be slow at first, but unless I take this first step I will never make any progress at all. I hope by visiting you will be inspired to take up the cause and come back every week for more motivation to continue on. This isn’t a simple New Year’s resolution, it is a decision I am making after months of thinking and debating with friends.

A favorite quote of mine states, “The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.” That is exactly what I plan on doing.

Until Next Time,

The Part Time Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

